About the Community

About the Community


The Fellowship Community is a collective of congregations and individuals predominantly, but not exclusively, within the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). We are embracing new mission possibilities for evangelicals called to remain active in increasingly liberal mainline denominations. We believe this is a challenging and exciting time to be apprentices of Jesus; one that will require us to be thoughtful in our theology, articulate in our beliefs, culturally aware, accountable to one another, and actively engaged in mission.


We invite you to consider membership in The Fellowship Community and will be happy to answer questions and explain in more detail what makes our community and our calling unique.


Our History


The Fellowship Community is the next chapter in a rich history of mission and ministry among Presbyterians. In 1989, the Covenant Fellowship of Presbyterians and Presbyterians United for Biblical Concerns merged to form Presbyterians for Renewal—a broad based advocacy and ministry organization. In 2011, pastors from seven large congregations formed the Fellowship of Presbyterians in an effort to reclaim a covenanted biblical community where unity is derived from a clearly articulated theology and a shared mission to make disciples of Jesus Christ, and where new generations of leaders are nurtured to speak the gospel into a rapidly-changing world.



Paul Detterman, National Director
Jane Harper, Community Administrator
Debbie Detterman, Financial Administrator
Mike Porter, Director of Abbots and Mission Affinity Groups
Rebecca Bowman, Administrator of Abbots and Mission Affinity Groups
Ray Hollenbach, Consultant in Small Church Spiritual Formation
Arwen McGilvra, Webmaster and Social Media
Michelle De Monnin, Graphic Designer and Visual Artist


Presiding Board

Mark Brewer, Englewood, CO – President
Nicole Lock, Atlanta, GA – Vice President
Charlie Stine, Norfolk, VA – Treasurer
Jerry Andrews, San Diego, CA
Becce Bettridge, Friday Harbor, WA
Marilyn Borst, Atlanta, GA
Herb Codington, Clinton, SC
Anne Hilborn, Charlotte, NC
Megan Katerjian, Santa Rosa, CA
Donna Marsh, Washington, D.C.
Jung Yn Shin, Norcross, GA
Jim Singleton, Ipswich, MA
Bill Teng, Alexandria, VA


 Advisory Board

Jim Singleton, Chairman, Ipswich, MA
Marnie Crumpler, Atlanta, GA
Thomas Daniel, Austin, TX
Bob Fryling, Woodbridge, IL
Kathy Goodrich, Bozeman, MT
Ralph Hawkins, New Wilmington, PA
Peter James, Vienna, VA
Laura Mendenhall, Leander, TX
Dave Peterson, Houston, TX
Tim Snow, Seattle, WA
Scott Weimer, Atlanta, GA


Theology Task Force

Jerry Andrews, San Diego, CA
Richard Burnette, Due West, SC
Allan Poole, Durham, NC


2or3 NETWORK (small church ministry)

Sue Babovec, North Manchester, IN
Robbie Carnes, Los Angeles, CA
Herb Codington, Clinton, SC
Chuck Compton, Flora, IN
Jim Deal, Wenatchee, WA
Jim Friedmeyer, Henry, IL
Joan Gaines, Amarillo, TX
Tee Gatewood, Banner Elk, NC
Tom Hastie, Huntington, WV
Anne Hilborn, Charlotte, NC
Newell Krogmann, Le Sueur, MN
Bill Lawrence, Mineral City, OH
Sue Spencer, Akron, CO
Phyllis Tincher, Boise, ID
Mark Unrue, Youngstown, OH


Ecumenical Advisors

Wes Barry, Charlotte, NC (ECO)
Marty Guise, Eureka, MO (Lay Renewal Ministries)
Terry Gyger, Atlanta, GA (PCA)
Donna Marsh, Washington, D.C. (PCUSA)
Ron Reinstra, Holland, MI (CRC)